Evan R. Liblit Memorial Fund

liblitMany of us remember Evan Liblit as an innovator and teacher of recycling and waste management.

But Evan was a student as well. Always anxious to explore new technologies and techniques, he quickly learned and understood that his field was subject to fiscal pressures, legislative compromise and the public’s willingness to cooperate.

Today’s students of environmental management face similar challenges and changes. Waste management in the new millennium will not only be subject to the same pressures of the last two decades, but new technologies will emerge and ever-changing regulation will attempt to address those changes.

In 1997, the State University at Stony Brook recognized Evan Liblit’s contributions to solid waste management and recycling, and established a memorial scholarship in his name. The Evan R. Liblit Memorial Fund will support graduate students at the SUNY Stony Brook Waste Reduction and Management Institute. The fund will be on-going and self-sustaining, and will benefit these students for years to come.

As a friend of the environment, please join with fellow Long Islanders and associates of Evan Liblit, and honor his memory by making this fund an important part of our region’s environmental future.

For more information, e-mail Larry Swanson at larry.swanson@stonybrook.edu.

Ways to Give

Gifts may be made by check, money order or credit card. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences/SBF. The Center also accepts MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover. To donate on-line please click here.

Previous graduate student award recipients are listed below.  The Winners of the Liblit Memorial Scholarship are listed on an Undergraduate and Graduate Student plaques in the Endeavour Hall Lobby.

Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarship Fund Annual Award Winners

For Their Excellence and Continued Support of Recycling in New York State.

1998 Margaret McArdle
1999 Michael Ahrens
2000 Aaron Rust
2001 Ann Zulkosky
2002 Teresa Mathews
2003 Mark J. Benotti
2004 Paula S. Rose
2005 Christine O'Connell
2006 Owen Doherty
2007 Anne Cooper Ellefson
2008 Brooke Rodgers
2009 John C. Gondek
2010 Cassandra Bauer
2011 Konstantine Rountos
2012 Krista Green
2013 Natasha Gownaris
2014 Kaitlin Willig
2015 Ryan Wallace
2016 Irvin Huang
2017 Lori Clark
2018 Karin Schweitzer
2019 John Bohorquez

Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarship Fund Undergraduate Award Winners

For Their Excellence and Continued Support of Recycling in New York State.

2008 Amandeep Parhar
2009 John Botos
2010 Deborah Aller
2011 Eda Charmaine Gimenez
2012 Rasheed Lucas
2013 Marie Baietto
2014 Moshan Chen
2015 Emily Markowitz
2016 Michelle Barbosa & Alfredo Esposito
2017 Julia Petersen & Maria Grima
2018 Claire Garfield & Courtney Stuart
2019 Laura Osa & Kyle Walter

Below are articles regarding the Liblit Award, including profiles of the winners.  Click on a headline to view the article.

2019 Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarship Winners Honored

On Wednesday, November 13, the  Evan R. Liblit Scholarship winners were formally announced at our annual Liblit Fundraiser/Scholarship Breakfast held at the Irish Coffee Pub in East Islip.  This year marks the 22nd year of the Liblit Scholarship Fund.   Our two...

2019 Evan Liblit Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced

The winners of the 2019 Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarships have been announced! The Evan R. Liblit Graduate Scholarship is a supplement to any form of financial aid, and is given to a promising graduate student demonstrating excellence in academic achievement and...

SoMAS Convocation 2019

Photo above: Dean Shepson welcomes the Class of 2019 at the SoMAS Convocation. Congratulations to our graduates!  The annual SoMAS Convocation occurred on Friday, May 24, 2019 at the Center for Leadership and Service. Students gathered with their friends and family...

Evan R. Liblit Scholarship Fund Recycling Symposium

Liblit Recycling Symposium Agenda PDF MARCH 21, 2019 The Changing Paradigm of Recycling 2018 saw a number of developments in the world of municipal recycling on Long Island, triggered in part by a severe tightening of export markets and some business failures that...

Memorial Scholarship Winners Honored at Annual Liblit Breakfast

On Tuesday, November 14, the  Evan R. Liblit Scholarship winners were formally announced at our annual Liblit Fundraiser/Scholarship Breakfast held at the Irish Coffee Pub in East Islip.  This year marks the 20th year of the Liblit Scholarship Fund.   Our...

2016 Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarship Winners Honored

Above Image: Charles Taber (Dean of the Graduate School), Alfredo Esposito (Undergraduate Liblit Scholar), Michelle Barbosa (Undergraduate Liblit Scholar), Irvin Huang (Graduate Liblit Scholar), Larry Swanson, Michael Cahill The winners of the 2016 Evan R. Liblit...

Liblit Award Winners 2015

The winners of the 2015 Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarships have been announced!  Ryan Wallace of SoMAS has won the Liblit Graduate Scholarship.  Emily Markowitz has won the Liblit Undergraduate Scholarship.  The winners were selected on the basis of their...

17th Annual Evan R. Liblit Scholarship/Fundraiser Breakfast

The 17th annual Evan R. Liblit Scholarship/Fundraiser Breakfast took place on November 12 at the Irish Coffee Pub in East Islip. Michael Cahill, Chair of the Liblit Scholarship Steering Committee, was the moderator. Welcome remarks were made by Dr. Harold Walker of the Civil Engineering Department, who also gave an update on his undergraduate who had won the scholarship last year. Dr. Carl Safina was the keynote speaker. Moshan Chen received the Liblit Undergraduate Award which honors an outstanding undergraduate who demonstrates a commitment to helping solve environmental problems. Kaitlin Willig received the Liblit Graduate Award which supports a graduate student who demonstrates excellence in academic achievement and who is undertaking a marine, terrestrial, groundwater, atmospheric pollution-related or waste management research topic. Congratulations to both students!

Liblit Scholarship Award Breakfast 2013

Natasha Gownaris of SoMAS has won the 2013 Evan R. Liblit Memorial Graduate Scholarship. Natasha was selected on the basis of her application and interview with members of the Liblit Steering Committee. Natasha was a guest at the annual Liblit Memorial Scholarship...

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe By Email

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar