Evan R. Liblit Memorial Fund

liblitMany of us remember Evan Liblit as an innovator and teacher of recycling and waste management.

But Evan was a student as well. Always anxious to explore new technologies and techniques, he quickly learned and understood that his field was subject to fiscal pressures, legislative compromise and the public’s willingness to cooperate.

Today’s students of environmental management face similar challenges and changes. Waste management in the new millennium will not only be subject to the same pressures of the last two decades, but new technologies will emerge and ever-changing regulation will attempt to address those changes.

In 1997, the State University at Stony Brook recognized Evan Liblit’s contributions to solid waste management and recycling, and established a memorial scholarship in his name. The Evan R. Liblit Memorial Fund will support graduate students at the SUNY Stony Brook Waste Reduction and Management Institute. The fund will be on-going and self-sustaining, and will benefit these students for years to come.

As a friend of the environment, please join with fellow Long Islanders and associates of Evan Liblit, and honor his memory by making this fund an important part of our region’s environmental future.

For more information, e-mail Larry Swanson at larry.swanson@stonybrook.edu.

Ways to Give

Gifts may be made by check, money order or credit card. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences/SBF. The Center also accepts MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover. To donate on-line please click here.

Previous graduate student award recipients are listed below.  The Winners of the Liblit Memorial Scholarship are listed on an Undergraduate and Graduate Student plaques in the Endeavour Hall Lobby.

Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarship Fund Annual Award Winners

For Their Excellence and Continued Support of Recycling in New York State.

1998 Margaret McArdle
1999 Michael Ahrens
2000 Aaron Rust
2001 Ann Zulkosky
2002 Teresa Mathews
2003 Mark J. Benotti
2004 Paula S. Rose
2005 Christine O'Connell
2006 Owen Doherty
2007 Anne Cooper Ellefson
2008 Brooke Rodgers
2009 John C. Gondek
2010 Cassandra Bauer
2011 Konstantine Rountos
2012 Krista Green
2013 Natasha Gownaris
2014 Kaitlin Willig
2015 Ryan Wallace
2016 Irvin Huang
2017 Lori Clark
2018 Karin Schweitzer
2019 John Bohorquez

Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarship Fund Undergraduate Award Winners

For Their Excellence and Continued Support of Recycling in New York State.

2008 Amandeep Parhar
2009 John Botos
2010 Deborah Aller
2011 Eda Charmaine Gimenez
2012 Rasheed Lucas
2013 Marie Baietto
2014 Moshan Chen
2015 Emily Markowitz
2016 Michelle Barbosa & Alfredo Esposito
2017 Julia Petersen & Maria Grima
2018 Claire Garfield & Courtney Stuart
2019 Laura Osa & Kyle Walter

Below are articles regarding the Liblit Award, including profiles of the winners.  Click on a headline to view the article.

Student Profile: Eda Gimenez

Eda Gimenez is an undergraduate student at the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences (SoMAS), currently in her 3rd year of study.  Eda was recently awarded the 2011 Evan R. Liblit Undergraduate Scholarship, which honors undergraduates who show a commitment to...

Student Profile: Cassandra “Cassie” Bauer

Cassie Bauer is currently a second year Master’s student at SoMAS.  She is the most recent recipient of the Evan R. Liblit Scholarship award, a scholarship by the Evan R. Liblit Memorial Fund to support graduate studies at SoMAS in the field of waste management and/or...

Student Profile: Deborah Aller

A Stellar Graduate: Deborah Aller Receives Prestigious Chancellor’s Award When SoMAS undergraduate Deborah Aller stepped away from the stage at this year’s SoMAS Convocation, she could look back at a career at Stony Brook that was more than distinguished. Deborah took...

Student Profile: Amandeep Parhar

Stony Brook University Senior Amandeep Parhar received the first annual Evan R. Liblit Undergraduate Scholarship, which honors an outstanding undergraduate student who demonstrates a commitment to helping solve environmental problems. Amandeep is majoring in Economics...

Anne Ellefson Awarded 10th Annual Liblit Scholarship

On October 31, 2007. the Evan R. Liblit Memorial Scholarshp Fund celebrated its tenth anniversary at its annual fundraiser/award breakfast. The Liblit Fund was established in 1997 to honor the memory of Evan R. Liblit, a nationally recognized professional, innovator...

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Subscribe By Email

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar