Select Page

As representatives of the public for the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences (SoMAS), members of the Dean’s Council are the primary external force moving the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences to the realization of its opportunities for mission fulfillment and service to its constituencies. Working with the Dean and his designated representatives, the Dean’s Council provides advice and guidance in the areas of planning, advancement, organization, and operations. The current Dean’s council members are:

Sarah Chasis Senior Attorney and Director, Oceans Program, Natural Resources Defense Council
Rosalind Walrath Board, New York League of Conservation Voters.
Michael Halpern President, East Hampton Beach Preservation Society
Maureen Sherry Klinsky Board, Peconic Baykeeper
Robert Komitor Levy Phillips & Konigsberg, LLP
Laurie J. Landeau, VMD Associate Director, Aquavet; Marinetics, Inc. and Co-founder, Marinetics
Xiaodan (Danny) Lu, Ph. D. President and CEO, Seawolf Technologies Inc., Chinawind Communications Limited
Robert J. Maze, Ph. D. Co-founder and Vice President of Marinetics, Inc.
Jane Ross Vice President, Alfred and Jane Ross Foundation, Inc.
Andrew Sabin President, Andrew Sabin Family Foundation
Dieter von Lehsten Co-chair, Town of Southampton Sustainability Advisory Committee
Michael White Environmental Law Practice
Michael J. Zeitlin CEO, Aqumin LLC
Christopher Zeppie Director, Environmental Policy, Programs and Compliance at The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
Ex Officio:
Minghua Zhang, Ph. D. Dean, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Deborah Lowen-Klein Assistant Vice President for Advancement, Stony Brook University


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Skip to toolbar